Tax Collector: Sandra D. Pierson
Assistant Tax Collector I: Sally Ferko
Assistant Tax Collector II: Stephanie Kennedy
Location: Town Hall, 617 Orange Center Road, Orange
Office Hours: 8:30 to 4:30 Monday thru Friday
Payments are accepted from 8:30 to 3:30 Monday thru Friday
Click here to view information about online payment of taxes, available beginning February 16, 2016.
To view your tax bill online, please click here. This service is now available so you can quickly and easily inquire and view your Real Estate, Personal Property, and Motor Vehicle tax bills that are due, print a duplicate record from your computer, and look at any payments that have been made on your accounts.
The tax collector is an elected position. The Tax Collector’s Office is responsible for the billing and collection of taxes that comprise the majority of the town’s operating revenue. The office operates under the authority of the Connecticut General Statutes.
Taxes collected include:
- Real Estate
- Business/personal property taxes
- Motor Vehicle taxes
The Grand List is a listing of all taxable property located within the town as of October 1 of the Grand List Year and its valuation on the first day of October.
|Grand List Year 2015||First Installment due: July 1, 2016|
|Second Installment due: January 1, 2017|
Mill Rate is set at 32.2 for real estate/personal property, 32.0 for motor vehicles.
Taxes are based on 70% of the value x the mill rate.
Real Estate, Personal Property and Motor Vehicle tax bills are sent out once in June of each year. Real Estate and Personal Property greater than $ 100 are due semi-annually ( July 1 & January 1).
Motor Vehicle taxes are due in a single installment (July 1). The Tax Collector does not have the authority to waive interest and makes no exceptions as interest is mandated by the State of Connecticut. As owners of property, taxpayers are responsible to see that taxes are paid when due.
If you sold your real estate and receive a tax bill, please contact the Tax Collector’s Office. If you receive a real estate bill and you escrow your taxes, please forward the bill to your mortgage company. If you no longer own the motor vehicle on which the tax bill is based or you have moved, please contact the Assessor’s Office at (203)-891-4724 , 4723 or 4722. Written documentation as to the disposition of the vehicle and license plate is required by the Assessor in order to receive proper credit. Remember that when you receive a motor vehicle tax bill, nine months of the year covered by the bill have already passed.
The time period covered by Motor Vehicle Tax Bills is October 1 through September 30. Vehicles registered between October 2 and the following July 31 will appear on a Supplemental Motor Vehicle list provided to the Assessor by the Department of Motor Vehicles. Supplemental Motor Vehicle bills are sent out in December and are due in one installment on January 1.
If you owe delinquent Motor Vehicle taxes on any vehicle in your name, you may not renew any registrations at the Department of Motor Vehicles without paying your taxes first. ALL past due taxes in your name must be paid in full. If you pay your past due motor vehicle taxes with a check (debit/credit card on-line only) you will not receive a DMV clearance for 12 days. If you need clearance sooner you may pay in the Tax Collector's office with cash (only) and will receive clearance the following business day.
Never ignore a tax bill. Taxes will remain due and interest will continue to accumulate until the bill is paid or removed by the Assessor. Failure to receive a tax bill does not exempt taxes or interest. You are responsible for obtaining your tax bill and paying your taxes on time.
For more information or if you have questions about what you owe, please contact the tax collector’s office staff by calling (203) 891-4725, 4736 or 4726.